Centre Management

Professor Michela Massimi FRSE, FRAS

Chair in Philosophy of Science & Eidyn Deputy Director
Professor Michela Massimi works in philosophy of science. Her research focuses on the history and philosophy of physics. Michela joined the University of Edinburgh in July 2012, where she founded and is currently leading the Research Cluster in Philosophy of Science. Before joining Edinburgh, Michela taught for seven years at UCL in the Dept. of Science and Technology Studies, and in 2009 she was Visiting Professor at HPS, Pittsburgh. She completed her PhD at the LSE in 2002, and in 2002-2005 she was Junior Research Fellow at Girton College, University of Cambridge. She is the PI on the Leverhulme-funded international network "Kant and the Laws of Nature" (2012-2015) and on a new 5-year ERC Consolidator Grant on "Perspectival Realism" (2016-2020). She has been the Co-Editor-in-Chief of The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science since 2011. Michela was the recipient of the Royal Society 2017 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal Lecture for her interdisciplinary interests in and communication of philosophy and science. In 2018 she was elected to a Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. She is a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society.

Professor Duncan Pritchard FRSE

Chair in Epistemology & Eidyn Director
Duncan Pritchard joined the University of Edinburgh in 2007 as the new Chair in Epistemology. Before coming to Edinburgh, he was Professor of Philosophy at the University of Stirling. In 2007 he was awarded the Philip Leverhulme Prize. In 2011 he was elected to a Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. In 2013 he delivered the annual Soochow Lectures in Philosophy in Taiwan, which were published by Princeton University Press as Epistemic Angst: Radical Scepticism and the Groundlessness of Our Believing. His other monographs include Epistemic Luck (Oxford UP, 2005), The Nature and Value of Knowledge (co-authored, Oxford UP, 2010), and Epistemological Disjunctivism (Oxford UP, 2012). Duncan is currently leading several externally funded Eidyn research projects, including two major collaborative and interdisciplinary Templeton-funded projects and also the Edinburgh wing of a Marie Skłodowska-Curie European Training Network.